Baked Apple Cider Donuts!

Happy Halloween! Here’s a fall treat for the occasion! I’ve been meaning to make these for about 2 years now, and I finally had enough cider to do it.

appleciderdonuts

I used a modified version of this recipe. I decided to use some sourdough starter, so as usual, I used a 1/2 cup of starter and decreased the flour and liquid by 1/4 cup each. I also decided to swap the muffin tin for a donut tin/pan!

The recipe is super easy, didn’t even need a mixture. The donuts baked in about 8-10 minutes and I got 15 donuts out of the recipe.

They are super sugary! I’d maybe sprinkle them with the cinnamon sugar instead of dipping them into a bowl full of it. I also suggest letting them cool completely before tasting. If you taste them while the butter is still warm, you’ll get a lot of butter flavor and sugar and not much else. When they’re cool, they’ve got a nice flavor. If you use the topping, they are very sweet.

Everyone liked them though! For a first attempt, I’d say this was a successful one. I think they would be really good with pieces of apple in too!

