Sourdough Challah!

Every year, I make a challah for Roch Hashanah. This year, I decided to put a sourdough spin on it.

sourdoughchallah

My basic recipe comes from my favorite bread book, Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes A Day. And, like I usually do when adding starter to a recipe, I use 1/2 cup of starter and reduce the flour and water amounts by 1/4 cup. I always do it this way, and I’ve never had a problem.

The round challah is the traditional Rosh Hashanah shape, and has raisins. The braided loaf also has raisins and I added some cinnamon it as well.

I actually tried out new braiding techniques for both loaves, and I love how they came out.

You can’t see the inside, but it’s nice and tender. The outside is shiny from an egg wash and soft because this is a dough with fat in it. It tastes like a traditional challah, you don’t really get any of the sourdough flavor because so little was used, but it’s a good way to use your discard!

This is one of my favorite recipes, it’s basically without fail. If you don’t have Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes A Day, I highly suggest checking it out.

