Foodie Friday: Pork Belly Tacos!

Ah pork belly. Who doesn’t love pork belly?! I do, I love it. I love it so much that I made these awesome tacos out of it!

porkbellytacos

I got this belly at Costco, it was already cut into thick slabs, just like bacon. For my marinade I used:

  • About 4 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/4 grated Asian pear
  • 2 big cloves of garlic, minced
  • about 1 tbsp grated ginger
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil

I used four strips of the pork belly, put them in a plastic bag with the marinade, smushed it all around and left it for about 1-2 hours at room temp (the pork belly was still a bit frozen). You can also marinade it in the fridge.

While that was doing its thing, I made a quick pickled slaw. I used:

  •  1/4 head of cabbage, julienned
  • 2 carrots, very thin strips
  • 4 radishes, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup vinegar (I used a mix of champagne and red wine)
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup water

First, I prep all my vegetables, then I mix the vinegar, salt, sugar and water until the sugar and salt are dissolved. Then I add my vegetables, mix around and make sure everyhting is submerged, cover and let it sit.

After the pork was done marinating, I cooked the strips in a large pan, until they were nice and caramelized and not pink in the center. Then I removed them and added any remaining marinade and cooked it down. I chopped the strips into cubes and added then back into the reduced sauce, just for a few minutes to get a nice glaze on them.

Once that was done, it was time to put together the tacos! We warmed up some small flour tortillas, added a nice smear of sriracha mayo, then piled on the pork, pickled slaw, chopped parsley and scallions… and devoured.

These were amazing! You get a hint of sweet from the Asian pear, salty from the soy, spicy from the red pepper flakes and sriracha mayo. The pork is meaty and fatty and just delicious. The pickled slaw cuts the fat and the mayo adds another layer of creaminess. Perfect.

I love me some pork belly and Korean tacos… this was a perfect marriage. I don’t think I could eat a normal pork taco without thinking about this one. I’ve been getting requests to make them again, and even my picky sister loved them… and that’s saying something. I see a lot of these in my future, Costco better stock up on that pork belly!

