Foodie Friday: Dark Chocolate Peanut M&M Cookies!

We have lots of peanut M&Ms left from a party, and I’ve been really wanting to make chocolate cookies. So I thought, why not combine the two?

darkchocolatepeanutmmcookies

I used this recipe for the actual cookie, with one change: I used half brown sugar, half white sugar. The recipe calls for 1 cup of white sugar, I like my cookies soft, so I decided to use half a cup of white and half a cup of brown sugar. Oh, also, I use Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder, for reference.

For the peanut M&Ms, I didn’t want to put whole, giant M&Ms in there so I smashed them up a bit first. Then added them to the cookie batter.

When it was time to bake, I used about a tablespoon of dough per cookie, rolled it into a ball and placed on the cookie sheet. After my first batch I realized that you need to press the dough balls flat before baking! Otherwise, they won’t flatten out. So, for my second batch I made sure to flatten the dough balls with a measuring cup.

I baked these for about 10 minutes, as per directions.

They came out really good! Super soft and chewy, and they stayed chewy! They had a nice cocoa flavor. Next time, I would omit the M&Ms, I think they took away from the cocoa and made the cookies a little too sweet and artificial. I’d also add a bit of espresso powder for a richer flavor. But, overall, the actual cookie recipe is a keeper. I’ll be holding on to it.

Do you have a favorite chocolate cookie recipe? What mix-ins would you use?

 

