Foodie Friday: Olive Bread!

I’ve been making bread… a lot. Mostly because I’ve decided to use my discard starter instead of throwing it out every week. I’ve been trying to make different kinds of breads, this time I added some mix-ins!

olivebread

At one time in my life, I was not a fan of olives… but they’ve grown on me! One thing I’ve always liked is olive bread.

My base recipe is my all time favorite, go-to, white crusty bread recipe, which comes from the book Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes A Day. If you don’t have the book (get it), you can find the master recipe here.

I make a half batch of the recipe, which makes two loaves. I also add half a cut of my starter to the recipe, so I decrease the flour by 1/4 cup and the water by 1/4 cup. I adjust flour if my dough seems to wet.

To make the olive loaf, I took the risen dough, flattened it out, sprinkled then pressed in chopped olives, rolled it into a loaf and let it proof as per the recipe. After proofing, I baked as per the recipe and ta-da! Olive bread!

This ‘recipe’ is a keeper. I also used the same technique to make sundried tomato bread, which also came out awesome.

What’s your favorite kind of bread to make?

 

