Foodie Friday: Bacon Cheddar Bombs!

If you didn’t know already… I’m trying to use up my sourdough discard instead of throwing it out every week. This is one of those creations!

baconcheddarbombs

Cheese covered dough filled with more cheese and thick cut bacon. What can be better? Not much.

For the dough, I used the King Arthur’s pizza dough recipe. To add my sourdough, I just measured out some starter, then subtracted that amount from the original recipe’s flour and water. Half from the flour and half from the water. I believe I used 160 grams of starter, so I used 80 grams less of water and 80 grams less of flour.

Left it to rise just as instructed. During the last leg of the rise I cooked a whole bunch of thick cut bacon, then chopped it into bite sized pieces once it was cool.

When the dough was ready, I took golf ball sized pieces of dough, flattened them out, stuffed with bacon and cheese, sealed and formed back into a ball. I used a combination of colby jack and cheddar cheeses. After each cute little dough ball was formed, I placed it in a greased cake pan. When all balls were ready, I let them proof as per directions. Right before baking I brushed each with olive oil, and sprinkled with garlic powder and more cheese.

I believe these took about 20 minutes in a 350 degree oven. And just for the fun of it, right before pulling them out of the oven I sprinkled with more cheese and put back into the oven just long enough for the cheese to melt.

While they cooled, a dipping sauce was devised. I went simple with sour cream, chives, salt and pepper. It was actually the perfect accompaniment to the rich bacon and cheese.

Once these were cool… they were devoured! I could not stop eating them, neither could the boyfriend and even my mom ate two the next day! They are amazing.

I’ll definitely be making these again in different variations. I really want to do something like a white pizza filling with ricotta, mozzarella, bacon and black olives with marinara for dipping.

What you fill these with?

