Foodie Friday: Mini Key Lime Pies!

I’ve been wanting to make key lime pie forever. I actually also promised a key lime pie to one of my boyfriend’s friends abouuuut a year and a half ago, maybe more.The problem is, I’ve never even seen key limes at the grocery store… until one faithful weekend. There was one bag and I had to grab them.

minikeylimepies

I decided to make them mini because I got the cutest mini tart pans at Home Goods and needed to use them ASAP. Also, they were easier to divvy up this way.

I used this recipe. I made my own crust as well, the recipe is so simple and the pies come together super fast. I did add some key lime zest to the filling, just for fun. And I made whipped cream my own way with heavy cream, sugar and vanilla extract.

I even had some fun with piping the whipped cream lol

These pies came out amazing, nice and tart, you can really taste the key limes and the crust was great as well. I will 100% be making this recipe again, it was fantastic. If you like key lime pie, you have to try it.

