Foodie Friday: Sourdough English Muffins!

I’ve really been wanting to find new ways to use my sourdough starter, I hate wasting it every week.

sourdough english muffinssourdough english muffins2

I used this recipe. I followed it exactly.

If you read the recipe and instructions, it says that the dough will be very sticky but will get less sticky as you knead it. I found is so sticky, that I ended up throwing it in my stand mixer with dough hook and let it do the work for me. Mind you, I did try to hand knead, it just did not work for me.

Also, when I was proofing the muffins, they didn’t puff up much. But they did puff up in the pan while cooking.

When tasting the finished muffins, I thought that they could use just a smidge more salt. If I make this recipe again I’ll be adding some more salt to the dough.

If you are planning on trying this recipe, make sure you don’t roll the dough out too thin! If you do, they won’t be as poofy as they should be!

All in all, a successful attempt!

Do you have any favorite sourdough recipes?

