Foodie Friday: Garlic Naan!

I love naan… like, really love naan. This is a super quick and easy recipe.

garlicnaan

I used this recipe with the following tweak:

  • Reduce sugar from 2 tsp to 1 tsp

The recipe also says to use about 1/2 cup of milk, I needed an extra about 1/8 cup. If you add too much milk, just add more flour until the dough isn’t sticky any more. That’s what I did the second time I made this, and it worked out just fine. But I do suggest starting with 1/2 cup and then adding a little bit of milk at a time.

I think this recipe takes about 30 minutes from start to finish, depending on how fast you roll out and cook your naan. The first time it did take me a little longer, just because I was trying to roll and cook the dough at the same time. I suggest rolling out all the dough then cooking.

While on the topic of the cooking… I tried with two different pans: a regular one and my cast iron. I can’t really say one was better than the other, but my cast iron did hold temperature much better, so I’ll probably be using it from now it.

And of course, what makes this garlic naan? Well, I like to melt some butter, add some chopped garlic, cook until bubbly and fragrant. Then I take it off the heat and as each naan comes off the pan, I brush both sides with the garlic and butter! You can make whatever kind of naan you want… herbs would be great, cheese too!

And the best part? It’s delicious. Definitely a new go-to recipe of mine.

 

