Foodie Friday: Momofuku Milk Bar Cornflake-Chocolate-Chip-Marshmallow Cookies!

Phew, that’s a long title, but I’m back with a proper Foodie Friday!

cornflakechocolatechipmarshmallowcookies

So, these cookies. They are pretty crazy. Not only do they have chocolate chips and marshmallows, they have a crazy concoction called ‘cornflake crunch’. I got the recipe straight from Momofuku Milk Bar.

I’ve been intrigued with this recipe ever since I saw a video of Christina Tosi (the genius, founder and owner of Momofuku Milk Bar) making them. She had me at ‘cornflake crunch’.

I followed the recipe exactly (even using the digital scale), everything was going well, then I had some mishaps baking. The recipe says bake for 18 minutes, my cookies turned into rocks and they spread like crazy. So then I decided to bake them for only 15 minutes, which was better but they still spread and the edges turned very brown (as you can see). Then I started checking on them at 13 minutes and that worked out better. I think taking them out at the 14 minute mark was ideal.  Of course, everyone’s oven is different, but I’d start checking at 13 minutes.

I did have a lot of spreading for the most part, but I think that might be because I should have replaced my baking soda lol. Also might have been because there were marshmallows on the bottom of some of the cookies and they melted and crystalized.

They taste really good though! And the cornflake crunch adds a texture and crunch to the cookies (and it’s great to eat on its own). They are super buttery, so be prepared… with a big glass of milk. I’d definitely get some new baking soda and make them again!

