Foodie Friday: Master Cookie Dough!

Woah, it’s been a while. I wholeheartedly apologize, I’ve been seriously slacking. I’ll definitely have a proper Foodie Friday next week! Today I want to tell you about my master cookie dough recipe!

Basically it’s a chocolate chip cookie recipe, just without the chocolate chips. Because when you take out the chocolate chips… you can add whatever you want! And it’s not just any chocolate chip cookie recipe… it’s the Nestle Toll House recipe! I’ve tried so many different cookie doughs and this one is seriously the best one, in my opinion.

The ingredients:

 

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • Any additions you like!

Directions:

PREHEAT oven to 375° F.

COMBINE flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in any additions. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets.

BAKE for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Some variations I’ve done:

  • White chocolate cranberry  (these were excellent!)
  • Mini Reese’s peanut butter cups
  • Andes Mint
  • Dark chocolate chunk

You don’t have to stop at cookies, you can easily turn this recipe into blondies, just like my Butterscotch Chocolate Chip Blondies (which happen to be a variation of this same recipe!)

You’re only limited by your imagination! And that’s the beauty of it.

 

 

