Foodie Friday: Sourdough Bread!

I hope you all has a great Thanksgiving! Today, I wanted to revisit my sourdough journey! If you read my sourdough starter post a while back, you’ll know that I was on a quest to make my own sourdough with my own starter. I’m happy to say that it was finally happened, I’ve hit sourdough success!

 

sourdoughbread

sourdoughbread2

So, the recipe that I used is this one from The Clever Carrot. I did modify my second proof and baking technique though.

I form the dough according to the recipe and then I let it bulk ferment overnight, in a warm spot, like the top of the fridge. In the morning, I shape the dough and put it in a very well floured banneton to proof. I’ll let it proof for about two hours in a warm microwave, so it works like a proofing box. 20 minutes before baking, I preheat the oven to 425  with a pizza stone. Once the dough is done proofing, I turn it out onto a cornmeal covered pizza paddle, dust off some excess flour and slash.  I take out an extra sheet pan and add about 1 cup of water to it. Then I put my bread on the pizza stone, and the pan of water to a rack higher in the oven. I use the pan to add extra moisture to the oven, which I learned from my artisan bread book.

About 2/3 way into the baking, I’ll take out the pan (all or most of the water will have evaporated) and move the bread to a top rack so the top can crisp up. Once the top is nice and golden, take it out and let it cool.

You’re supposed to wait until the bread is room temp to slice, which takes about two hours. We usually cave an hour in lol. Cutting bread too early  can cause your bread to be a little gummy.. just a warning. Regardless of your patience level, this bread tastes great. You really get the dour flavor throughout the dough. I like this recipe much better than the last one I used. I don’t know if it’s the oil or the bread flour, but the dough is much less sticky and way easier to shape. It also tastes way more sour. Do be careful when you add the salt after autolyse though… really make sure you get it all incorporated or you’ll have salty bits and not at all salty bits throughout your bread.

I highly, super seriously recommend this recipe. It’s delicious. We love this bread with some herd butter, oil and vinegar or just by itself!

