Foodie Friday: Sour Cherry Preserves!

I’ve been wanting to go sour cherry picking for three years now! The last two years, I missed the seasons completely, but this year I made sure to stalk the orchard and my sour cherry picking dreams finally came true!

sourcherrypreservesYas! I knew I wanted to make preserves with the cherries, I LOVE sour cherry preserves and jams… I just eat them with a spoon.

We picked almost three pounds of cherries, and I used just about all of it for this recipe.

The first thing I did was use a cherry pitter and pit more or less half of the cherries. I left them whole, as they were pretty small, added them to a pot with about 1/3 cup of sugar and started cooking on medium high heat. These might be small cherries, but they are very juicy. Once they hit the heat, you have a pot full of cherry juice! When the liquid started to bubble, I lowered the heat to help it reduce.

I wanted the cherries to be in different stages; some cooked down a lot, some whole, so I added them in stages. When the first batch started to reduce, I added more pitted cherries, some more sugar (about 2-3 tbsp) and water (if the mixture was getting too thick). I did that three times, then let them whole thing reduce for another 10-15 minutes. Then I let it cool and jarred it up! I didn’t want it too sweet, I just didn’t want it super sour, so in total, I think I used about 1/2-3/4 cup of sugar.

After everyone tasted it, we decided that cherry picking will have to be a new tradition. We might even have to go a few times during the season lol.

What’s your favorite fruit to pick?

