Foodie Friday: Summer Fruit Crostata!

On Saturday, my mom saw a crostata on the cover of a magazine and could not stop thinking about it. So after we had dinner that night, I threw one together. Ingenuity at its best.

summerfruitcrostataFirst thing I had to do was make a crust, we thought about going out and buying one but I knew it would take too long to thaw. So I found this recipe plus one tablespoon of sugar, and made it really quickly in my food processor (one of the best appliances ever). Once it was made, I wrapped it in parchment and put it in the fridge to chill. In reality, it’s supposed to chill for at least 4 hours… I only had 20 minutes lol

While that was chilling, I preheated my oven to 450 and got to cutting my fruit. I used:

  • 3 apricots, cut into wedges
  • 3 large strawberries, sliced
  • a handful and a half of blueberries (I have small hands)
  • half a handful of cherries, cut in half

Once all the fruit was combined I added some sugar, maybe 1.5-2 tablespoons and about a tablespoon of flour.

After the dough had chilled, I rolled it out, and filled it with my fruit mixture. I left maybe 2 inches of free edge to fold over. Then brushed the top with an egg wash, sprinkled brown sugar in the raw on top and put it in the oven for 20 minutes.

This was a winner! The strawberries were my favorite part, all roasty and delicious. I’ll definitely be making it again! I was worried about the dough, but it turned out really good! I should have added more sugar though, I’ll keep that in mind for next time.

What’s your favorite summer dessert?

