Foodie Friday: Restaurant Spotlight- Asbury Festhalle & Biergarten

So, I’ve been very lame recently. The last time I went anywhere (besides this past weekend) was on Valentine’s Day! Luckily for me, the boyfriend was going a little stir crazy as well, so we decided to go to the newly opened Asbury Festhalle & Biergarten!

I was really excited about this one! Bratwurst and beer… what could be better?!

There are two parts: the festhalle and the rooftop biergarten. The rooftop isn’t open yet, but I can’t wait to check it out when the weather gets warmer.

We decided to go on Saturday around 4pm. There was already a line waiting, but it wasn’t too busy so we only had to wait about 15 minutes (I don’t think it was even 15). Once you get inside, it’s kind of rustic, long tables and barrels to eat on! There is one bar, and basically the entire place is packed! we decided to grab beers first and wait around for a table to open up, after about 15 minutes, I saw an empty barrel and ran to it. We sat around for a while, you kind of need to flag down a waiter/waitress and hope they are yours, if not they’ll grab the right person for you.

Once we finally ordered and got our food, we were definitely happy campers.

asburyfb4Those are our beers. I had a half liter of Weihenstephaner Hefe-weissbier, which is on the left (probably the hardest one to say, thank goodness for smartphones haha). It’s a wheat beer, very light so it doesn’t fill you up. The boyfriend got a pint of Stiegl, which was also surprisingly light. I think his was hoppier than mine, but you could taste more fermentation in mine.

They have a massive selection of beers, there are almost 100! They have both bottles and drafts of import and domestic craft beers.

Food wise, I had my heart set on a pretzel three days before we even went, so we decided to get a pretzel and sausage. We went with the weisswurst.

asburyfb3This is the weisswurst, which is a veal and pork belly sausage. You also get cold potato salad, sauerkraut, two kinds of mustard and rye bread with any sausage that you order. The weisswurst itself was a bit bland, but once you added the mustard and kraut, it was really good. But beware that pale yellow mustard! It’s full of horseradish and almost killed me haha

asburyfb2This is the massive pretzel.. it’s called a Bavarian Brezel on the menu. This is a seriously top notch pretzel, crunchy outside, soft inside, buttery and you get it nice and hot. This comes with a side of mustard (not the horseradish one lol), a pickle and this cheese sauce that I literally want to live in. It’s delicious.

Surprisingly, I finished my half liter of beer and got another drink. I spotted something called Zombie Killer on the menu, and could not leave without trying it.

asburyfb5The menu said it was a mead and the boyfriend said I would like it, so I decided to jump the gun and order the $12 bottle. To my great delight, I found out it was a cider! I really liked it, the boyfriend hated it haha but that was better for me because I drank the whole thing in about 5 minutes.

Overall I think this place is great! Love the ambiance, love the location, they have a fantastic selection of beers and the food is really good. This is a great place for groups large and small, young and old. I’ll definitely be going back.

