Foodie Friday: Rum Cake!

I’ve been on a cake kick recently! And this one is a major winner…

rumcakeI got this recipe from a friend of my mom’s. My mom brought home a piece of this cake one day, a long long time ago, but it was so good that I never forgot it. I had this recipe sitting in an email for probably over a year!

This recipe is super simple because you use… boxed cake mix! I’m usually not a fan of boxed mixes, but this is now my only exception.

Cake:

  • 1 18 1/2 oz. pkg. yellow cake mix
  • 1  box Jello vanilla instant pudding and pie mix
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup cold water
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup rum (I used Bacardi Gold)
  • optional: 1 cup nuts

Glaze:

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup rum (I used Bacardi Gold)

Firstly, preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Then make your batter, basically just dump everything into a bowl and mix. You can use an electric mixer, but I just do it by hand. Once your batter is done and your oven is preheated, prepare your bundt pan. I used cooking spray and flour, just to be safe. If you’re adding nuts, sprinkle them over the bottom of the pan first then add your batter on top. If you’re not using nuts, just go ahead and add your batter to the pan. Bake the cake for about an hour or until a toothpick comes out clean.

While the cake is baking you can make your glaze! First melt the butter in a saucepan. Once butter is melted add the rest of the ingredients, stirring constantly. Once the sugar is dissolved, take it off the heat.

When your cake is done, let it cool for a bit then turn it out onto a plate (or whatever you’ll be serving it on). Poke holes in the top… I use metal skewers that I have lying around, but you can use whatever you have. Spoon the glaze over the cake, and make sure to let it drip over the sides! Wrap it up and let it sit for a few hours or overnight!

You can serve it plain or with whipped cream.

This cake is amazing! And the longer it sits, the better it is. I highly suggest making it the night before and letting it sit a full night. I think I might add coconut next time and make a coconut rum cake!

