Foodie Friday: Fresh Pasta with Creamy Tomato Sauce and Shrimp!

I’ve been wanting to make fresh pasta for such a long time! I’ve kind of been waiting to see if I can get my hands on a pasta machine or attachment for my mixer… but that never happened, so this pasta is very handmade.

freshpasta

I was also watching Worst Cooks In America at the time, and Anne Burrell had her recruits making pasta all the time, so I figured it couldn’t be that hard! I decided to go with her recipe. I found it a little difficult to measure out 1 pound of flour, so I had to use my best estimate in cups. Because I estimated, my dough was a little dry so I had to add water… then I added too much water and had to add more flour haha but once it was the right consistency everything went smoothly!

Then it was time to knead the dough until it was nice and smooth. The boyfriend and I took turns with that. Once we got the dough to where we wanted it, we rolled it out by hand and cut it into strips. Hand cutting was super difficult! It’s pretty hard to get even strips across the board, but we did as best we could lol. We had some inconsistencies, but that’s alright. After all our pasta was cut, we started boiling the water!

Then it was time to start the shrimp and sauce. I went with shrimp because the boyfriend isn’t a fan of chicken, and I thought a creamy tomato sauce would just compliment everything.

I seasoned my shrimp with:

  • salt
  • pepper
  • garlic powder
  • smoked paprika

I sauteed the shrimp in olive oil, once done, I took the shrimp out and it aside.

For the sauce:

  • 1 can crushed tomatoes
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1/4-1/2 cup chicken stock (or any other stock)
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • salt, pepper, garlic powder to taste

Once my shrimp was done, I used the same pan for my sauce. I added my garlic and onion, and cooked that until it was the onion was soft. Then I added my crushed tomatoes and seasoning. Cooked that for a minute, then added the heavy cream. After a few tastes, I decided that it was still too tomatoey and added some chicken stock to mellow out the flavor a little bit. Let that cook for a few more minutes, and added back my shrimp.

While my sauce was cooking, I had my pasta bowling in a pot of salted water. The best part about fresh pasta is that it cooks super fast! It’s fun too, because you through the pasta in and when it basically done it floats to the top. We tasted it to make sure it was done, by itself, you can really taste the olive oil in the dough. We also noticed that it poofs up quite a bit while it’s cooking, so we realized that we did not roll it out thin enough haha. Anyway, when the pasta was done, I threw it into the pan with the sauce and shrimp. Toss, toss and serve!

All and all.. it was great! I’m super impressed with our first time making pasta, I’m seriously thinking about getting a pasta machine now. Even though the pasta was a little thick, when mixed with the sauce it was fantastic. I really love a creamy tomato sauce, especially when you get to sop up the remains with some garlic bread!

