Foodie Friday: Restaurant Spotlight- Great Adirondack Steak and Seafood

Last weekend I was in Lake Placid for my mom’s birthday. This is our third trip there, we fell in love the first time we went last January. As you probably already know… I love food. We love food. Food is a major part of any vacation for us. During this trip we found our new favorite place.

great-adirondack-steak-seafood-co.This is Great Adirondack Steak and Seafood! This place is really awesome, they have some classic steakhouse dishes like prime rib but also some interesting things like wing.. but they’re duck wings with a Thai inspires peanut sauce! They’re also affiliated with the Great Adirondack Brewing Company.

The inside of the restaurant is full of stuff… and I mean lots of stuff. There are propellers on the walls, old school lanterns, pots, pans, an old TNT detonator box! It’s pretty cool.

The food is awesome. What drew us in what the special that was posted outside: pork belly. If I see that on a menu, I’m there. It was an appetizer with brussel sprouts, pork belly on top, all served in a little cast iron pan. Honestly, I wish this was served in the biggest cast iron pan they could find. Now, I normally hate brussel sprouts, and I mean hate. But these… they were amazing. I’m still dreaming of them and I’m definitely going to try and recreate them. The pork belly on top was barbequed.. something I’ve never had before.

For dinner I had a prime rib, my mom had a seafood wellington, my sister had ribs and my dad had the sausage mixed grill. Everything was really good, my favorite was the mixed grill. It came with venison, boar and (I believe) elk sausage. Loved the elk and venison. It also came with one of the best mustard I have ever had… and their mashed potatoes are amazing! Definitely going to be getting that next time.

Since the brewery affiliation, we had to get some beer! We decided to get the beer flight to get a taste of all their beers. I think they have 12 on the menu. I liked the pale ale, they’re two dark beers are amazingly full bodied and almost taste like coffee! The best one was the Adirondack Abbey Ale.

We also had to try dessert, and we got the baked apple… seriously the best baked apple I have ever had in my entire life! Oh, and kids get oreos with a kids meal!

We liked dinner so much that we went back for lunch the next day. I had the half soup half sanwich with french onion soup and a BLT.. if you think this won’t fill you up.. you’re mistaken. The half sandwich was so big that I don’t think I could finish a whole one if I ordered it. You also get a crock of the french onion.. not a normal cup. My sister loved the ribs so much that she had them again. My dad got the special, inferno burger, which had massive pieces of pork belly on it and was awesome. After lunch our waiter brought my sister her oreos and even gave me a pack!

Great service and great food. I highly recommend Great Adirondack Steak and Seafood if you’re in Lake Placid.

