Foodie Friday: Oatmeal Cherry Cookies!

Saw a recipe on Pinterest.. then changed it.

oatmealcherrycookies

My recipe is adapted from this one… but this is what I used:

  • 1 cup instant oats
  • 3/4 cup Kodiak Cakes Power Cake mix (Whaaaa? Yes, these were protein cookies… but you can use any kind of flour you want)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder (use 1 1/2 tsp if using regular flour)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • about 1/2 cup dried sour cherries, but you can eye ball that

First mix your dry ingredients together. In a separate bowl, mix your butter, eggs and vanilla. Stir in your honey until it’s incorporated. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and fold until everything is incorporated. Finally, add your cherries. Chill the dough for at least 3o minutes.

After the dough is chilled, preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Bake for about 15 minutes, cool, then eat!

Because I used pancake mix as my flour, I definitely had too much leavening. They tasted slightly like baking powder, and didn’t flatten much while baking. Next time, I would stick to flour or skip the baking powder if I do use the mix.

