Foodie Friday: Roasted Pork Belly with Braised Red Cabbage!

On Memorial Day, the boyfriend and I had no plans so we decided to cook! Well… technically, I cooked and he slept on my couch.

porkbelly

I had suggested pork belly, but we never made any decision on protein. When we went to the store, I couldn’t get behind any other protein, so we went back to the pork belly idea haha. Once I got pork belly on the brain… there’s no going back.

This is actually inspired by a dish that I had while in London. It was a super crispy piece of pork belly with some braised cabbage and apples. We got our pork from Whole Foods, they didn’t have the big slabs, so we could only get the strips. I seasoned them with salt and pepper, cooked then in the oven for 15 minutes at 375 degrees, then lowered the temp and cooked for another 30ish minutes. The bigger the piece, the longer it will take to cook, since these were smaller, they cooked very quickly.

For the braised cabbage, I used a medium sized head of red cabbage and three granny smith apples. I cooked down the cabbage then added the apples. I seasoned with salt, pepper, apple cider vinegar and brown sugar. That cooked for at least 20 minutes, until the cabbage was soft and sweetened up by the sugar.

I also roasted some potatoes with the pork belly, so they basically basted in pork fat… yes.

And that’s it!

