Foodie Friday: Challah Baked French Toast with Oatmeal Crumble!

Last Sunday I had a bunch of my friends over for brunch! It was like a mini reunion, so I had to make something special.

DSC_1154

challchfrenchtoast

Challahhhhh! This is another recipe from my brain, much lighter than your typical baked french toast. I used way less eggs, no milk or cream so it was great for my lactose intolerant friend. Here’s what you need:

  • Challah, 1-2 loaves depending on number of people
  • 2-3 eggs
  • 2-3 cups orange juice
  • cinnamon
  • sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 package instant oatmeal (any flavor you like)
  • graham cracker crumbs (optional)

First you need to slice up your challah, I used two loaves and needed to use three baking pans (two pans fed 7 people, that is 1.5 challahs). Once your challahs are sliced, place them in the pan, overlapping. Now it’s time for your liquids! Basically, you need 1 egg, 1 cup orange juice, 1 tablespoon of sugar, and cinnamon per pan. Mix up all your ingredients, pour over the challah, press the bread down so it soaks up the liquid, cover with foil and chill for at least 2 hours.

After it’s chilled, preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Now, you can make your crumble topping! I used a package of maple nut oatmeal, added some graham cracker crumbs and mixed it all up. Once the oven is preheated, take out your bread, sprinkle the topping over, recover and put in the oven for 15-20 minutes. After that, remove the foil and bake for another 20-30 minutes, until the topping and edges are crunchy.

While that was baking, I made a super simple blackberry syrup. All you need is maple syrup and blackberry jam. You can get a little fancier and cook down actual blackberries, but I did not have time for that! You just have to warm up the blackberry jam in a small pot, until its liquidy then add your maple syrup, mix it all up and let it cool!

I also made some maple, black pepper bacon! I used thick cut bacon, brushed it with syrup, add some fresh ground black pepper and baked for about 15 minutes (longer is you want it crunch). I glazed with the more syrup about two more times while it was in the oven. So good!

 

