Foodie Friday: Peach, Plum and Blueberry Crumble!

Actually made this on the fly last night!

PPBcrumble

Really easy and pretty fast, here’s how I made it:

  • 2 large, very ripe peaches
  • 1 large, very ripe dinosaur egg plum
  • 1/3 cup blueberries
  • 1/3 (about) cup flour
  • 1 package of instant oatmeal, I used Maple Nut flavor
  • Dr, Lucy’s Ginger Snap cookies, 4 (optional)
  • 1/2 stick butter, softened

First thing to do is preheat the oven to 350 degrees. While the oven preheats, cube up your fruit (don’t worry about skins). I cut everything into larger cubes so that they wouldn’t just deteriorate when in the oven. Once everything is cubed, add all the fruit to your bowl or pan, I used a pie pan, not greased. Then add the flour and get that all mixed up.

Now make your topping. Crush up the ginger snaps (if you’re using them) and mix them with the instant oatmeal in a bowl. Once all of that is combined, add your softened butter and mix into your crumble topping. I usually use my hands for the butter, a spoon just never works for me!

Put your crumble over the fruit and put in the oven for about 25-30 minutes or until the topping is golden and crunchy and the fruit starts to bubble.

This came out better than I expected! You got sweetness from the peaches, sour from some of the blueberries and crunch from the topping! You can use any fruit you want here, it’s a great way to use up very ripe fruit that no one wants to eat. Also, I highly suggest adding some vanilla ice cream to the party!

