Foodie Friday: Blackberry Chocolate Chip Cookies!

I decided to do a cookie experiment! Here’s what happened…

blackberryCCcookies

The gist of my experiment was to see if I could make chewy cookies using oil, not butter. I didn’t even have butter and was too lazy to go to the store. But I didn’t stop there! I had a crazy idea to add blackberry jam to the recipe! This is the recipe that I used– minus the almond extract, plus about 1/4 cup of blackberry jam.

The recipe itself was great, the dough turned out exactly like any dough made with butter. It did thin out a little bit when I added the jam, but it didn’t really affect texture in the finished product. Oh, it also turned the dough slightly purple, but they turn out normal colored once they’re baked.

Texture of these guys was perfect! nice and chewy in the middle, crispy on the edges. No one even knew I didn’t use butter. Flavor was spot on also.

You can sub for any oil you have on hand if you don’t have vegetable oil, I would normally use canola. Flavorless oils are suggested. So yeah! If you don’t have any butter you can still make cookies!

