Foodie Friday: Baked Doughnut Holes Two Ways!

Nothing better than doughnuts holes, guys.

donutholes

I’m not really sure what made me want to make baked doughnuts, but something did and this is the recipe I used.I did make a few changes… I cut the sugar from 1.5 cups to just 1 cup and left out the nutmeg completely.

I decided to glaze them my way though and made two different kinds of doughnuts. The ones on top are coated in a maple glaze then dipped (thoroughly) in cinnamon sugar. The ones on the bottom are also maple glazed but them sprinkled with BACON. Yes.

My maple glaze was very simple, just maple syrup, some butter and touch of milk. Cook that down in a saucepan for a few minutes and it’s done.

I liked these doughnuts, they were a little dense though. The boyfriend thought they weren’t sweet enough but I strongly disagreed. The cinnamon sugar ones were perfectly sweet since the topping is straight up sugar. The bacon ones could have used some more sugar though, because the bacon was super salty. Love that sweet and salty combo.

I’m going to be making a version of these for the 4th of July, with a few changes (again)… I’m definitely going to buy a doughnut baking pan so I can make them into actual doughnut shapes (I used a mini muffin pan for these). I’m also thinking about adding the bacon inside the doughnut itself and doing bother maple glaze and cinnamon sugar on top. Best of both worlds. YUM.

