Foodie Friday: Vanilla Ice Cream with Chocolate Covered Pretzels and Bourbon Swirl

Finally decided to put my ice cream maker to good use!

icecream

icecream2

I found a really simple no-cook ice cream recipe from tasteofhome.com:

  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 2 cups half and half
  • one cup sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Once you combine that, just put it in your ice cream maker and follow the churning instructions. I found this to be a little sweet, so I would decrease the sugar.

Before making the ice cream, I made some dark chocolate covered pretzels and a bourbon sauce. For the bourbon sauce you need:

  • 1/2 cup honey whiskey (you can use any whiskey you like)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp butter

Combine that in a sauce pan, let it boil for 1-2 minutes then cool.

After my ice cream was done churning, I added the pretzels (broken up) and the sauce. Combined and stuck in the freezer!

I really could’ve let it churn for a little longer than I did, it was a little waterier than I’d like. I have a 2 quart Cuisinart ice cream maker, and this recipe makes 1-1 1/2 quarts. If you have a larger maker just double the recipe. You can also add whatever flavors and mix-ins you like!

Besides the lack of churning, this ice cream turned out great. Really delicious and super simple. Highly recommend this recipe!

