Why “Girl Meets World” Will Probably Disappoint Us

So, Boy Meets World… awesome. Basically defined at least one generation! The trailer for Girl Meets World went pretty much viral last week and I had to watch it. And I have to say that I’m pretty disappointed.

Love Cory and Topanga, of course, but recreating the same storyline? Meh. Not only that, but it’s going to be on Disney Channel. DISNEY! Have you seen any Disney shows lately? My sister is 11, so I watch them all the time. There’s lots of singing. I can only imagine what Disney will do.

I just feel like Disney is going to suck the life out of this show, there is no way they can recreate the Boy Meets World phenomenon.

They probably won’t even address any serious issues. It’ll be way more conservative than the original, plus the girls are much younger in order to appeal to a younger crowd.

That’s really the main issue: when we all started watching we ended up growing up with the characters. Now, they’re starting from scratch, and we’ve outgrown it. The girls look like they’re 10 years old to me, I can’t relate to that. And I can’t relate to Cory and Topanga being boring parents either.

Another issue is that I don’t think today’s kids (like my sister) are going to relate and follow the show like we did. Kids are now conditioned to video games, lots of singing, and badly animated cartoons.

I just can’t really wrap my head around it. It just seems so LAME. Another we’ll-always-be-there-for-you family, although heartwarming, is lame. There’s nothing original or special about this show, and every time I watch the trailer, I dislike the idea even more.

Oh, and if you dig a little deeper, you’ll read that Cory is basically the new Feeny. He’s a history teacher at his daughter’s school… lame. And poor Topanga gets the crap end of the deal and owns the girls’ favorite hangout spot… that specializes in pudding.

So in short, a show about middle school girls and boring parents. Seems like we don’t need any more of that on TV.

