Foodie Friday: Cherry Date Newtons!

Took me a while to decide what to make this week. I was really looking forward to making a cake, but I just wasn’t inspired. Then it hit me: newtons! So I found a fig newton recipe, and made it my own!

cherrydatenewtons

For the filling, instead of figs I used dried dates and cherries. Just take half a cup each and put it in the food processor with about a tablespoon of water and pulsed until it because almost like a paste. Really simple.

The dough is where I started experimenting. The original recipe that I was semi following can be found here. I’m kind of on a calorie counting kick and wanted to try and make the dough a little healthier, so I substituted 1/2 cup AP flour for whole wheat flour. Also used 1/2 cup mashed banana to replace 1/4 cup butter (really only should’ve used 1/4 cup mashed banana. Whoops). And finally, used 1/4 cup honey instead of any sugar.

Did my dough come out perfect? No. Did it taste pretty good? Yes. So not really a loss for me. I think I’ll follow the original recipe next time but use the same kind of filling.

