Foodie Friday: Strawberry Shortcake Cupcakes!

No Foodie Friday last week, sorry about that, I had no time to bake and no reason to cook… but I’m going to make up for it! I promise.

strawberryshortcakecupcakes

A friend of mine recommended a recipe website to me about two weeks ago, and as soon as I got on it I spent an hour on the dessert page. So when I was looking for something to make for dessert, I decided to get back on that dessert page. I was looking for something pretty simple, that doesn’t take a lot of eggs, butter or flour (just because I was at the grocery store and didn’t buy extra butter and flour lol), and I came across this recipe.

The only change I made was instead of using fresh strawberries, I made my strawberry syrup (which tastes good on everything!) It’s basically fresh, chopped strawberries, water, and sugar. You cook that down then add some lemon juice and let it cook down until it’s the thickness you like and it’s done!

Just a warning, the batter is super dense! Which makes the cakes very dense, and they were sweeter than I expected.

Oh and if you do make the strawberry syrup and assemble these babies… put them in the fridge and try them in a day or two, the syrup gets soaked in and they’re even better.

 

