Foodie Friday: Chocolate Cupcakes with Raspberry Buttercream!

It was my sister’s birthday on Tuesday and she requested chocolate cupcakes. Funny enough, they would work really well for Valentine’s Day (not intentional lol)!

chocolate-rasberrycupcakes

I used my usual chocolate cake recipe, baked and let those cool. Once they were cool I started on my buttercream, this is what you’ll need:

  • Two sticks of butter, softened
  • 1 cup of powdered sugar
  • 2-3 tablespoons of heavy cream
  • 2-3 tablespoons of raspberry jam or puree
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

First thing you need to do is whip your butter until it’s fluffy, then slowly add your powdered sugar. Once that’s combined, add your heavy cream one tablespoon at a time until you get a consistency that you like. Then you can add your vanilla and raspberry flavoring, stir to combine and you’re done!

This particular recipe only frosts about 13 cupcakes, I didn’t want to frost all 24 since I have some people who prefer cupcakes sans frosting at my house (weird, I know). If you want to frost all the cupcakes you can just double the recipe, should be fine. Also, I don’t like my frosting too sweet, but if you like it sweeter, you can add more powdered sugar.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

