Foodie Friday: Cuban Night!

A few weeks ago my family and I went to the city, for dinner we went to this Cuban place and it inspired me to recreate what I ate at home!

skirtsteak

So first thing is first: marinate your steak. We always marinate our steaks in soy sauce and garlic, so that’s what I did. I used about 1 1/2 cups of soy sauce and 5 cloves of garlic, chopped. Let that marinate for as long as you can, mine sat for about an hour. You can cook it however you like to cook your steak, grilling is ideal, but since it was cold out I cooked it on the panini press with grill plates. It cooks really quickly, about 7 minutes, but you need to keep an eye on it. If you cook it too long, it’ll be tough.

On to the rice and beans. I used Goya Yellow Rice, and cooked it as the box directed (yes, it’s from a box…) and once that is done just add your black beans. I used canned black beans but you can use dried and cook them if you’d like to.

Finally, the best part… plantains! I love plantains. I was craving them for the longest time before I actually got to have them. Anyway, they’re super easy to make. All you have to do is peel them, slice them and fry them! That’s it. You can choose from green or yellow plantains, preferably ripe ones. I find it hard to tell which are ripe, but I’ve read that the skin should have black spots on it. To cook them, get a medium sized pan, put in enough vegetable oil to cover the bottom of the pan and get it very hot. Once the oil is hot, drop in your slices. You can smush them a little bit while they’re cooking (I think I saw people do that on TV once). You’ll know they’re cooked when they’re nicely browned on both sides. Then just drain them on a paper towel (or 3) and you can sprinkle them with a little salt, or leave them as is!

This is one of our new family favorites and it could become on of yours! Definitely an easy weeknight meal.

