Foodie Friday: Angel Food Cake with Berry Compote!

So it was my grandma’s birthday last week, and we did a Thanksgiving part 2 for her birthday. My mom wanted me to make a cake, and since my grandma was supposed to be on a diet I decided to make an angel food cake. Tragedy ensued…

angelfoodcakeI used a normal angel food cake recipe… eggs, sugar, flour, yadda yadda. I also made a berry compote with strawberries, blackberries and a little brown sugar. Looks pretty okay right? Wrong.

The problem was that I don’t have an angel food cake pan! Who knew that it was necessary?! Not me! It shrunk up in the pan I used and came out really dense instead of fluffy. Another fail. I swear it’s the pan I used! I used the same pan for my apple cake fail. Guess I won’t be using it anymore…

At least the berries were good and masked some of the fail.

