Foodie Friday: Almond Cranberry Biscotti!

I’ve been promising my boyfriend biscotti for about a year now lol and I finally got around to making it! Feeding an Italian biscotti made by a non-Italian… this could be dangerous.

biscotti

I found this recipe online, a loooooong time ago. It’s the first and only biscotti recipe that I use because everyone loves it. I have tweaked it a little bit over the years, so here it is:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups softened butter (you can use margarine)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • Chopped almonds (or any kind of nut), optional
  • Dried cranberries (or any dried fruit), optional

First and foremost, preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

In a mixing bowl, cream your butter and sugar, then add your eggs one at a a time. Stir in your vanilla extract. In a separate bowl, combine your dry ingredients then add to your creamed mixture. Once that is all combined, stir in any nuts/ dried fruit.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (or tin foil). Then you will need to divide the dough and create two logs or rectangles of dough on your baking sheet. This dough is wet and sticky, so you will need a spatula or knife to spread it. Once shaped, bake at 375 for 15-20 minutes.

After the initial bake, take the biscotti logs out of oven and reduce the heat to 300 degrees. “Biscotti” means twice baked, so naturally they will need to be baked again. Once the logs are cooled slightly remove from the baking sheet and slice on a slight diagonal. Then put the slices back on the baking sheet. I stand mine up and try to fit as many on the sheet as possible, you may have to use two sheets. Once all the pieces are standing up, put them back in the 300 degree oven for about 15-20 so that they can dry out and become crunchy. You can also lay all the pieces down, bake for 10 minutes, flip them over and bake for another 10 minutes, but I think that much flipping is a hassle.

I’m going to be honest with you… sometimes I overcrowd my baking sheet and even after 20 minutes, my biscotti aren’t as crunchy as they should be. So what have I done to combat this? Bake the day before! The next day the biscotti are perfectly crunchy. If you like yours on the softer side you can eat them the day of. My biscotti usually don’t make it passed the first day, especially when my mom gets her hands on it.

That’s not too hard, right?

