Foodie Friday: Spiced Apple Cake!

I went apple picking last weekend with my little sister and the boyfriend. Somehow we ended up picking like 10 pounds of apples haha, and then had to figure out how to use them up!

spicedapplecake

spicedapplecake2

This recipe is from PaulaDeen.com but I did tweak it a little but by leaving out the orange juice and adding spices, like ginger and allspice. I also decided to skip the glaze in the recipe and make a honey whiskey drizzle, which went all over the warm cake and then made a honey whiskey caramel to drizzle over the top.

I’m going to be straight up with all of you… this cake was not good at all. It was just sweet… no actual flavor. Now if I find a recipe online, I only use ones with a five star rating. Oddly enough, this one had a five star rating, so after tasting the cake I went back on the website to read the comments and found that half of the five star ratings were form people who hadn’t actually made the cake! “I can’t wait to make this!” is not a review! You can’t give five stars for that!

So I’ve learned my lesson and won’t be using this website ever again. Pretty disappointing… I’m sure some people actually do like this cake, but I definitely won’t be making it again.

On the bright side, I figured out how to make caramel! Honey whiskey caramel apples… yes, I think so.

