Foodie Friday: Pizza with Homemade Dough!

Ever since making pizza with pizzeria dough, I’ve been meaning to make pizza with my own dough.

pizza2

pizza3

I used a recipe (olive oil dough) from…my favorite bread book, Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day! I made the dough like 2.5 hours prior to actually making pizza, Sometimes when you refrigerate pizza dough it can be harder to work with.

For the cheese pizza I used regular shredded mozzarella and marinara sauce, and for the sausage and cheese I used fresh mozzarella, chicken sausage and the same marinara sauce.

I baked the pizzas on a pizza stone in my oven. The directions say to bake at 550 degrees… but my oven kept wonking out and locking itself up when it got over 500. But basically, I bake in on the pizza stone for 8-10 minutes then move it up to a higher rack and bake for another 3-5 minutes. The pizza stone helps crisp the bottom and moving it up helps crisp the top crust and get the cheese all nice and bubbly.

I sill have a bunch of dough left and need to figure out what to do with it… maybe calzones!

