Foodie Friday: Cinnamon Buns!

I’ve been wanting to make cinnamon buns from scratch for a really long time. I think I’m using this blog as an excuse to finally get to any baking that I’ve been putting off lol

cinnamonbuns

Plus flour… Not sure how I forgot that haha

cinnamonbuns2

Again, for any bread recipes I use my Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day book. The best bread book, ever. For cinnamon buns it says to use either the challah dough or brioche dough, both are sweeter breads made with honey so they lend themselves to pastries. I decided on challah because it uses less eggs than brioche.

cinnamonbuns3

  1. Flour your surface, prepare your dough and then roll it out
  2. Spread butter over the dough then sprinkle cinnamon sugar (the book said to blend the butter with sugar and cinnamon to make it easier to spread… once butter is whipped, it’s easier to spread… I chose the harder way lol)
  3. Roll the dough into a log

cinnamonbuns4

Then just cut the log into rolls and place into a greased and floured cake pan, and let them proof. Once proofed they get all nice and poofy (after picture) and they’re ready to go into the oven! The book said to  but into 8 pieces, I obviously didn’t do that and overcrowded the pan a little bit.

cinnamonbuns5

And this is what you get! Beautiful! I also made a a quick icing with powered sugar, milk and vanilla. The original recipe was for sticky buns so they should’ve had a caramel at the bottom and when you turn them out they have a nice topping. Since I didn’t do that and it is a bread dough, the buns do need a little extra sweetness, and that’s where the icing came in handy.

