Foodie Friday: Empanadas!

My boyfriend, his sister, and I tried our hand at making empanadas this past weekend!

empanadas3

I got the dough recipe here, and I followed the directions exactly. In my opinion, it could have used a little more salt though.

empanadas

We baked the first batch at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

empanadas2

We fried the rest in canola oil. I didn’t use a thermometer or anything, so I’m not sure what temperature the oil was, but it only took about 3-5 to fry.

For the filling we sauteed some garlic and onion and then added the beef (80/20 beef). There are tons of different filling you can use, we went simple as this was our first time making empanadas. I highly suggest making sure you taste your filling for seasoning.

Also, make sure you roll your dough out pretty thin, the dough was too thick for our baked empanadas and the ratio of dough to beef was off. It also got a little too hard in the oven, and kind of tasted like an unsweetened short bread cookie haha. The fried ones came out better, the dough was thinner so it crisped up nicely, and they didn’t taste like cookies.

We also made chimichurri to serve with them. It really adds a lot to the empanadas, they need some sort of sauce to add flavor and freshness.

This is how I make my chimichurri:

  • 1 bunch of parsley, leaves only (I used Italian parsley this time, but you can use curly. I’ve even used cilantro.)
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • white vinegar
  • optional: red pepper flakes

I use a food processor to make my life easier. Just put the parsley, garlic, salt, pepper and vinegar in the processor and pulse a few times. Then stream in your olive oil. It should be pretty liquidy, but not pureed, you want to see the specs of parsley.

And that’s it!

So, our first attempt at empanadas was pretty good, I’d definitely tweak the dough and filling a little bit next time.

