Foodie Friday: Week in Review!

Being a little different this week! Today I’m going to show you some of my favorite things that I made this week!

sweet potato fries

For these, the fist thing I did was cut up some sweet potatoes, you could also use yams though. I believe I only used two. Then I baked them at around 400 for 20 minute or until they’re tender. They didn’t crisp up like I wanted so I heated up some oil and fried them! After they were nice and golden, I put them on a few paper towels to drain the extra oil. I topped them off with some finely chopped garlic and grated Asiago cheese! Delicious.

french dip

My boyfriend and I made dinner for my family last weekend. We thought about making kabobs but it was pouring! So we made roast beef instead! The best part about that was making these sandwiches with the leftovers. I also made a jus for dipping. For the jus, I caramelized some onions, then added chicken stock, a little worcestershire sauce, soy sauce for salt and I think that’s it. I make it differently depending on taste every time. Then I sliced my remaining roast beef, put it in a hot skillet, added a little jus and covered it just to warm it through. To put the sandwiched together I used some day old rolls, put a little bit of Asiago and cheddar cheese on one side, then the meat then some of the onions. Then off to the panini press! Once the bread is crunchy and the cheese is melted it’s done! Serve with remaining jus for dipping and you’re done.

nachos

Then Tuesday was nacho day! The boyfriend and I made nachos in the toaster oven! Yes, the toaster oven… and yes, that is a cake pan. We just layered tortilla chips, cheese and pickled jalapenos and put it in the toaster oven for about 15 minutes, until the cheese was melty. Obviously we could have left it in longer lol Just a toaster oven note: do NOT put it on the ‘toast’ setting! It’s too hot and the cheese will burn instead of melt (apparently we did that, then we lowered the heat to about 350).

That’s it! Anyone make anything interesting this week?

