Foodie Friday: Caramel Apple Cheesecake!

If you combine apple pie and cheesecake what do you get? This!

caramelapplecheesecake2

caramelapplecheesecake

I got this recipe off of Food Network’s website, it’s one of Paule Deen’s recipes. Yes, I did hear what happened with her. No, I didn’t know when I found the recipe. Regardless, it’s a fantastic baked cheesecake recipe. Really easy and delicious. I have my reservations about baked cheesecakes because I botched one up once and was afraid to try again lol but this is even great for beginners.

I followed the recipe exactly, besides one thing… she uses canned apple pie filling. That’s not my thing, so I made my own! Here’s how:

Ingredients

  • 3 granny smith apples, peeled and cubed
  • 4-5 tsp of sugar
  • about a tsp of cinnamon
  • 1-2 tsp of water

Once you peel and cube your apples, put them in a pot and add the sugar, cinnamon and water. Cook them over medium to medium high heat for 10-15 minutes. Once they’re slightly browned and soft, they’re ready!

Just substitute your apple filling for the one in the recipe and you’re good to go. I’m going to make this cheesecake for my next family gathering, it’ll become a favorite the second you taste it.

