Foodie Friday: Yogurt Crumb Cake!

Have you ever had a moment of revelation? I did today… it was crumb cake.

yogurtcrumbcake

I found a traditional crumb cake recipe online, but tweaked it a little bit:

Topping

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4-1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Cake

  • 1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup low fat or non fat yogurt (I used Chobani vanilla non-fat yogurt)
  • 1/2 cup low fat milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

First and foremost, preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

For the topping, combine all the ingredient until they have a semi crumbly texture. You may have to add more flour if your mixture is too creamy.

For the cake, combine all the dry ingredient and set aside. Then in a separate bowl ( I used my standup mixer) beat the egg, add the sugar and the yogurt and mix well, then add the vanilla and milk. Once that’s all combined slowly add the dry ingredients.

I baked mine in a square pan, but you can use whichever shape you like, even make muffins! That was my original plan but I ran out of muffin liners. If you bake in a cake pan, it should be about 20-30 minutes, make sure to start checking it at 20 minutes.

And voila! A healthier version of crumb cake!

