Foodie Friday: Banana Bread Muffins!

I make these muffins just about every other week. You know, you buy a bunch of bananas and only two or three get eaten and the rest just sit there. Well, this is what I do with all those overripe bananas!

bananabreadmuffins

I found the recipe a looooong time ago, online, I haven’t the slightest what the website is. I hand wrote it on the back of some other recipe, and it’s been my go-to ever since.

Recipe:

  • 3-4 bananas
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • raisins and nuts optional

First preheat the oven to 350 degrees. While it’s preheating, you mash the bananas and mix in the melted butter. Next, the sugar, egg, vanilla and cinnamon, stir to combine, then add the salt and baking soda, mix again and add the flour. Once everything is combined you can add raisins or nuts, or both. I usually add raisins, about a cup, mix that in and it’s ready to go.

For cupcakes, spoon the batter into a prepared muffin tin, you can fill the cups with batter almost to the top because these don’t rise too much, and bake them for about 25 minutes, once you smell them, they’re probably done. If you want to make banana bread, instead of a muffin tin use a loaf pan (make sure to butter it up so the banana bread won’t stick) and bake for about an hour. I usually choose muffins because they take less time to bake.

And that’s it! No more wasted bananas!

